NDIS Standards (National Disability Insurance Scheme)

NDIS Standards (National Disability Insurance Scheme) theNDIS Health and Quality Framework is used by the NDIS Commission to approve NDIS registered providers and their ability to provide services to NDIS participants. 

Quality and safeguard requirements under the NDIS Commission include:

  • Compliance with the NDIS Code of Conduct, including an orientation module for workers
  • Meeting NDIS Practice Standards
  • Ensuring a complaints system is in place
  • Reporting certain types of incidents to the NDIS Commission, including incidents or allegations of abuse and neglect
  • Complying with requirements in relation to behaviour support plans and the use of restrictive practices.

NDIS Standards (National Disability Insurance Scheme) which will be used by NDIS Providers will either have to verify or certify their organisations against these standards. 

The NDIS Quality Indicators (Core Module and other Modules) relate to:

  • Rights and Responsibilities
  • Governance and Operational Management
  • Provision of Supports
  • Support Provision Environment
  • High Intensity Daily Personal Activities
  • Specialist Behaviour Support
  • Implementing Specialist Behaviour Support Plans
  • Early Childhood Supports
  • Specialised Support Coordination
  • Specialist Disability Accommodation
  • Verification

Providers need to follow the steps:

  1. Register on the NDIS Website. Providers will then be advised what modules of the NDIS need to be complied with and if the Provider will need to achieve Certification or Verification.
  2. Select a Certification Body, these are approved auditing organisation that can assess you against the standard requirements and schedule your audit or verification.
  3. Prepare and implement a NDIS management system against the Module requirements. Train Staff implement processes and prepare evidence.
  4. Undertake Audit and await outcome as advised by the NDIS Commission.